Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Last Online

03.29.06 @ 01:41 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Homeunit, Tribb, Rol, etc. -
    I'm a drummer who likes to play guitar a little just for kicks. My playing sucks and my equipment sucks (Mexican Strat and Quantum practice amp - anybody ever hear of Quantum?). My playing isn't likely to improve much, but I was thinking about inexpensively improving my equipment. My thought was to replace the stock bridge pickup, nut and tuners with a SD Hot Rails bridge pickup, Fender roller nut and Shaller locking tuners for about $150. My questions are 1) will the Hot Rails get me closer to an EVH-type tone (not exact - just ballpark), 2) will the nut/tuners combo allow me to use the tremolo without immediately going out of tune and 3) are any parts that I would need that I didn't mention?
    Thanks guys
    "You guys never forced your babysitter to put her dirty feet all over your back-bottom while you handled up onto a tattered quilt?" - Fake Greggo
    "I like to put peaches in my panties and dance around until my knees bleed, Chuck." - Fake Billy Tubbs

Favorite VH Album

Cover Bands from Pasadena
    Favorite VH Song

Babe Don't leave Me Alone
    Last Online

09.05.15 @ 12:20 PM
    Liked 9 Times in 7 Posts

The tuners and p/u is a good idea, it your nut that you have to think about

I've always found the nut to be the biggest culprate with regards to the tremelo bar and tuning. The roller nut will work, I'd give it try. If you still have tuning problems I'd go for a graphite nut, (which wear out a little quickly), or a good quality nut and then buy some graphite to lube it up.

I've only used the roller nut on guitars that I've tried, so my experience is limited. Tribb has lots of experience with different nuts, so we'll wait and see how he says you should treat your nut
    My Band
    Baluchitherium

Good Enough
    Favorite VH Album

Carnal Knowledge
    Last Online